Daily Blog, Internet, Internet Related, Interview, Technology

An Interview With SEO Andy

SEO WebsiteWhen you read this you’ll probably think I’m completely mad and for those who know me then that statement isn’t far from the truth.  I’ve known Andy for about a year I guess and we crossed paths in a very odd manner.  You see we’re both fellow joinees.  Long Story short we had both read a book called Join Me – by Danny Wallace and both had a mutual liking for it.  Anyway I had a post up on the Join Me Forum asking for some help with a WordPress theme that I was tweaking at the time, Andy got in touch and been twittering and emailing each other every now and then ever since.  The nice thing with Andy is he’s always happy to help and is a bit of a legend with web design and seo.  I can’t thank him enough for all the bits of info and web/seo advice he’s given me.  Lately Andy has put the web design on hold (to a degree) and is now concentrating on his political thoughts.

1. Can you tell us a little about yourself  and your blog?

Ak: I have two blogs: SEOAndy which is about all aspects of marketing, from design to advanced seo to brand marketing. I also have a second blog andykinsey.me which is where I ramble politically.

As for myself I am a creative geek, I do lots of graphic and web design work plus lots of marketing. I am currently working with several clients including the Labour Party.

2. How did you 1st get into blogging and why?

Ak: SEOAndy was my original blog, but it started on http://andykinsey.co.uk which is now the base for all my other works.  I started as a way of keeping myself upto date with internet marketing goings on and giving away free advice.

3. What do you find most challenging about blogging?

Ak: The biggest challenge in blogging for me is actually finding the time to blog. It always used to receive a lot more loving from me, however I am now much busier with clients and finding time to blog isn’t so easy.

4. Has your blog played a role in getting to know other bloggers?

Ak: I know lots of bloggers from around the world, they cover all aspects of topic, from politics to music to cars to technology of course. It is awesome we are one huge community.

5. How would (someone) describe your blogging style?

Ak: My style of blogging is pretty informal, i don’t like blogging in a “corporate” tone, it’s not how i do business and it’s not how I live life. Blogs should represent yourself on the net and I think mine do. I hope people find the tone refreshing compared to other blogs.

6. When you’re not blogging what do like to do?

Ak: Haha I like to go to the pub, but mmm well client work often gets in the way. Other than those I enjoy spending time with my other half, we’ve just launched her website http://sarahpetrie.co.uk

7. What networking (if any) do you do to help promote your blog?

Ak: I use social networks Twitter and Facebook a lot, im a twitter-whore and facebook-addict I communicate with anyone who’s around on them and enjoy getting to know people.

8. How do you keep coming up with material/content for your blog?

Ak: Many people struggle with coming up with different articles/posts and they only have one blog. I have 2 blogs, plus I blog for another two websites, the content for my own blogs is fairly easy to keep up with for me. I spend my life on the net and that is where my marketing blog is obviously based, and political news is found generally via my involvement in the Labour Party. Also news of course comes from sources like bbc news and the new statesman etc.

9. Do you think Pagerank plays a vital role in a blog’s life?

Ak: Nope, pagerank doesn’t play a role on any website really, search ranking is not pagerank. Pagerank is nothing but a number that is usually useless. Also as my blogs are tangential or news based they move with the flow for the most part, which means i rely on social media for visitors more than search engines – not the normal way to do things for a website.

10. What would you prioritize? Content? SEO? Traffic? Readers?

Ak: Content is King. Good content breeds SEO, Traffic and thereof Readers.

11. What’s the best thing a blogger can give to his readers?

Ak: Great content is number one

12. Everyone has a favorite/least favorite post. Name yours and why?

Ak: Oh favorite was my redesign blog of 2009, it to this day gets about 45% of my traffic each month, just wish I could replicate its popular nature. Least favorite was the post where I announced the pause of seoandy, I came back 6 months later and still don’t have the time. I am now opening the blog to guest writers and there should be a few more posts soon.

13. What’s your take on sponsored reviews?

Ak: My view is sponsorship can keep a website running if it is a “free content” based website, however for corporate sites its a bad idea.

14. Name some of the bloggers whom you look up to and why?

Ak: Oh so many. Video bloggers at Twit.tv are awesome. Other blogs like SEO Round Table and Google Webmasters Blog.

15. If someone was interested in blogging, what would be a few things you would suggest?

Ak: Write for me 😛 Get me to design their blog 😛 or maybe I would say go niche, specific topics make for great content, you can branch out later but start small and don’t attempt to do too

4 thoughts on “An Interview With SEO Andy”

  1. 15. If someone was interested in blogging, what would be a few things you would suggest?

    Ak: Write for me Get me to design their blog or maybe I would say go niche, specific topics make for great content, you can branch out later but start small and don’t attempt to do too.
    Loved this one, I can never narrow things down in one niche. I don’t think I am the only person either. 🙂

    1. Me neither. I have many varied interests and it’s difficult to concentrate on the one so I ramble on about many different things on my blog lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

